Migration from Finland

Aloittaja tgabawm, marraskuu 19, 2012, 19:46

« edellinen - seuraava »

0 Jäsenet ja 1 Vieras katselee tätä aihetta.

tgabawm

Hi all!

I am a French 32 years old and I live in Finland since 10 years with my Finnish 37 y.o. fiancé. I have 2 master's degrees, he has one and an MBA. I have around 8 years professional experience, and he has more than 10, working currently as a country manager. Our goal is to move to Australia for few years and work there. To those of you who moved from Finland to Australia: how did you do it? What are good tips to know? How to get a visa? How hard is it to get a job?

Thank you for the help!

Anssi

Well, I haven't actually moved to Australia yet, but have accepted a job offer and should be flying over early next year.

I suggest you check out http://www.immi.gov.au/ about the Visas available. The easiest way is getting a job offer from Australia and getting a sponsored visa or being sent over by your employee. The next best thing is having an education and work experience in the same field and getting a positive skills assessment  by the relevant authority(as part of the visa application process). I had a business degree and experience in IT, so my process was a bit more work. From my application (not including the time to get the skills assessment which took some weeks), it took about nine months to get the visa.

I was fortunate enough to get experience in a field that is in pretty high demand and got a job offer on the second try, about a month after contacting a recruitment agent that posts jobs in Linkedin (not one of the bozos that take your money but one who gets his money from the company that hires you). I also knew another Finn who had found a job through him.

Approximately one thousand billion people are trying to get to Australia right now, since everywhere else is going to hell in a handbasket, and the visa conditions are getting tougher.

Silppu